Home Forum Topics Mental Health Dealing with Anixety

• This Post has 7 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 3 years ago by Nicole T.
  • Creator
    Christina F.

I feel like my anxiety lately has gotten worse, sometimes I can’t even explain it. I’m trying to focus on what triggers my anxiety – it seems like it’s social settings, alcohol, not saying “no” enough / taking on too much at once… What are some things you do to cope with anxiety? Thanks in advance!

Viewing 6 reply threads
    • Author
      Replies
      • #972 Reply
        Nicole T

Hi all,

Fellow anxiety person here. I am with all of you and totally get it. I have also dealt with it for years. I am an MSW student and recently just came across some interventions for anxiety that I would be helpful to share. It was actually for adolescents, but as someone with anxiety, I thought these tips might still be applicable to our age group. A lot of the tips surround recognizing the anxiety, acknowledging it, and reframing it.

Some common mindsets some of us may get stuck in include:
          -All or nothing thinking (I do this all the time: If I don’t work out in the AM, I cannot work out at all!)
          -Disqualifying the positive
          -Jumping to conclusions/mind-reading
          -“Should” thinking
          -Labeling/mislabeling situations before they even happen
          -Blaming
          -Catastrophizing (thinking of the worst thing that could happen)

Two possible ways to reframe our anxiety:

Think about the STOP method
          -S: Am I scared or nervous about a certain situation
          -T: What thoughts am I having in this situation
          -O: What other, more realistic, thoughts can I have
          -P: Praise myself for thinking more realistic thoughts.

Do your detective work:
          -What is the evidence leading you to feel this way?
          -How do I know this would happen?
          -How else could I explain the situation?